Yaz Enjoys Dream Campaign; Gibson Enjoys Dream World Series

Carl Yastrzemski wins the Triple Crown but loses the World Series.

Carl Yastrzemski wins the Triple Crown but loses the World Series./Steven Carter photo

Look back at the 1967 MLB season.

By Glen Sparks

Carl Yastrzemski wins the Triple Crown and American League MVP award. The Boston Red Sox left fielder hits .326, smacks 44 home runs (tied with Harmon Killebrew) and drives in 121 runs.

The National League MVP goes to St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Orlando Cepeda. The former Rookie of the Year (1961, San Francisco Giants) leads the league with 111 RBI. He hits 25 homers and bats .325 in his second season in St. Louis.

The Pittsburgh Pirates’ Roberto Clemente hits a career-high .357 and captures his fourth batting title. The dynamic right fielder also wins his eight straight Gold Glove. Clemente will win five more.

Hank Aaron wins his fourth and final home run title. The Atlanta Braves’ slugger belts 39 round-trippers. He retires with 755. His season high in homers is 47, in 1971.

Baseball gives out a Cy Young Award in both leagues for the first time. Jim Lonborg, a Boston Red Sox’ right-hander, earns the A.L. honor in his third season. He finishes with a 22-9 won-loss record and leads the league with 246 strikeouts. The N.L. winner is the San Francisco Giants’ Mike McCormick. He goes 22-10 with a 2.85 ERA in the year following Sandy Koufax’ retirement.

New York Mets rookie Tom Seaver wins his first major league game April 20. He beats the Cubs 6-1. Seaver goes 16-13 with a 2.76 ERA and earns NL Rookie of the Year honors. Rod Carew hits .292 and wins the A.L. ROY award.

Yastrzemski hits his 100th career homer May 16. The Pittsburgh Pirates’ Willie Stargell knocks his 100th career home run June 7.

Houston Astros pitcher Don Wilson tosses a 2-0 no-hitter June 18 against the Braves at the Astrodome. The no-no is the first one thrown at a domed stadium or on artificial turf. Wilson strikes out 15, including Aaron on the final out.

The Cardinals knock off the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on July 25. The loss drops the Cubs into second place. They never get back into first.

St. Louis wins 101 games and cruises to the N.L. pennant, 10.5 games ahead of the runner-up Giants. The Red Sox take the A.L. pennant with a 92-70 record, one game in front of the Twins and the Detroit Tigers. The Cardinals win a classic World Series in seven games. They only bat .223 as a team, but Lou Brock hits .414 (12-for-29). Roger Maris (10-for-26, .385) and Julian Javier (9-for25, .360) also enjoy a big Series. Yaz hits .400 (10-for-25) in a losing cause and belts three homers. Bob Gibson goes 3-0 for St. Louis, completes all three starts and finishes with a 1.00 ERA and 26 strikeouts in 27 innings.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s