“Hey, Mom, I’m Majoring in Baseball”

You'll most likely read about Lou Gehrig and Babe Ruth in the new Whittier College program on baseball studies.

You’ll most likely read about Lou Gehrig and Babe Ruth when you enroll in the new Whittier College program on baseball studies.

By Glen Sparks

I need to make today’s post kind of short. Whittier College in California has a new program, and I want to get cracking on my application. Whittier, the alma mater of former president Richard Nixon, will be offering a first-of-its-kind program in baseball studies.

Now, this does not seem like something created to churn out future big league GMs. Hey, that’s why we have Harvard. Rather, it seem like the focus will be on baseball history and the game’s role in our culture. According to the press release, “Whittier College will be the home of the Institute for Baseball Studies, the first humanities-based research center of its kind associated with a college or university in the United States.”

Hmm … If I enroll, does that mean I get the MLB channel for free? Will they fly me to Cooperstown for the Hall of Fame ceremonies? Can I expect complimentary tickets to the World Series? Do you think I should mention my baseball card collection in the application letter?

Potential reading list:

The Glory of Their Times

Veeck as in Wreck

I Never Had It Made

Cool!

Finally, not that this means anything, but the Whittier College baseball team finished 22-20 last season under the direction of Coach Mike Rizzo. The Poets were just 15-24 in 2013.

Leave a Reply

